thinking about this

Discussion in 'Seal Coating Forum' started by thelawnboss, May 18, 2008.

1. thelawnboss

thelawnboss LawnSite Member

Do many lawn care guys also do seal coating? We are thinking about it as a way to supplement our normal income. What do you guys think ? i have had a few customers ask about it, we would only do hand applied stuff for now, is it that hard to do? i have no experience with it, but have an interest. Let me know what you all think. Thanks

2. lifetree

lifetree LawnSite Fanatic

I don't think you'd be happy doing that !!

3. Mdirrigation

Mdirrigation LawnSite Silver Member

i dont know how many lawn guys do seal coating , but we do seal coating and we are thinking about adding lawn service to supplement our normal income. We seal about 700 drives a season ,it wouldnt be a problem to get a good portion of these customers to switch to us . I am sure I could come in cheaper than some one that does it for a living .

I own 2 seperate and different businesses , a sealcoat business and a irrigation business , both are specialized . We dont paint houses ,mow lawns , cut trees or do landscaping , we leave those jobs to those trades . My point is if you want to get in to the business of sealcoating , then buy the equipment and do it right .If you just want to make extra money , dont complain when a bunch of guys with their riding tractors start cutting your customers grass..................for extra money

4. thelawnboss

that is really part of the problem now, we are getting lowballed left and right, we easily went from being able to gross 100 an hour to barely 60-65. The market for mowing here is just going down hill quick....trying to figure out what our best course of action is.

5. Mdirrigation

Mdirrigation LawnSite Silver Member

Welcome to the new economy , We starter to get lean and mean 2 tears ago.