Thinking of buying a single axle dump as the first piece of my new business....

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Stroker, Aug 26, 2005.

1. Stroker

Stroker LawnSite Member

Well Ive been on this great site for a couple of months now trying to learn and absorb information. If you want to know the full background on my story, check this thread and this thread..

I worked as an equipment operator for several years and am thinking about going into business for myself. Ive been thinking of buying a single axle dump, compact track loader and perhaps a mini excavator. Then going after clearing, debris removal, excavating type work...

I got to thinking how I can start out with baby steps to get my business going. I thought to myself, here I am a start up business, does it really make sense to go out and buy a 50k compact track loader or a mini excavator before I even have my first job lined up? Especialy since so many places around here rent equipment.

Just out of curiosity this morning I got to talking to my banker. I asked about perhaps getting another auto loan and was approved on the spot. Now it may not make much sense to buy a 25k-30k single axle dump truck either. But with the option to finance for 72 months making the payments less than $500 a month, I can definitly afford to take the risk especialy since the income from my current job will be there until I have enough business to do this full time.
    I already have a 16,000# Superior deck over trailer and an F-350 as a daily driver. So basicly all Im missing is equipment, which can be rented as its needed until I feel the business will be there to justify making more purchases.....

Does this sound like a good approach to the start of my new business?

2. LB1234

LB1234 LawnSite Gold Member