Thinking of returning to regular work force

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by mes37fan, Aug 27, 2006.

1. mes37fan

mes37fan LawnSite Member

I started my business on 1-1-06 and my customer base is pretty decent for a start-up. I am in central florida. I will lose 20 of 30 customers on 11-1-06. I am thinking of returning to a regular job. I used to be a police investigator for sixteen years and I am possibly looking to get into a similar position in the private world such insurance claims investiagtor etc.

My reason for these thoughts is that the people in florida do not want to pay any kind of decent money for lawn service. They just about want lawn service for free. They are companies advertising $60.00 a month annual contracts in the local paper. I do not see how they make money. I am a single operator. I will have to say that this very hard work in florida with the heat and all. I can deal with the heat, but I do not know if I can do this for another twenty or twenty five years. I work more hours than I ever have before and my wife puts in countless hours in addition to her normal job. I feel like I do not have life sometimes outside of the lawn work.

I am from alabama and know that the pay is better there. I unable to move back due to my wife's job. I would stay in this line of work if the pay was better in florida.

My question is do the florida lco's ever experience the same feelings?

If do get out of the business, I can help a family member that wants to get into the business. This person is probably better suited for this business. I guess I want my free time back and a stable check. The cheap impatient old folks are killing me. Please don't get me wrong, I have no problem most older folks.

Thanks for any advice.

P.S. The idiot's like FULANO (Low Baller) does not help matters any.

2. Poncho25

Poncho25 LawnSite Senior Member