1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

thinking of starting a lawn care business???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by chew, Jan 7, 2001.

1. chew

chew LawnSite Member

I have been thinking of starting a lawncare business and was wondering if it is easy to startup. this is my first year with a snowplow and I have done alright but would like to continue with something for myself throughout the rest of the year.
  2. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

Working for yourself is often more headaches than its worth. Just make sure your well informed and educate yourself as much as possible about the biz before investing in equipment.

3. Eric ELM

Eric ELM Husband, Father, Friend, Angel

It is fairly easy to get started. First of all read as many of the posts on here that will educate you in this field and get some fliers out by the end of April or first of March. There is a lot of great information on this site to get you started in the right direction. Good Luck.
  4. Randy Scott

Randy Scott LawnSite Bronze Member

chew, you have come to the right place my friend. The guys here on the lawnsite are a wealth of knowledge and can answer any question you have. This site kicks butt. I am in the same boat as you, just starting a business. I think if you want to make it work, you will. If you decide to start one, good luck and pay attention to what these guys have to say.
  5. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

And for everyone's sake, don't be the LOWBALLER.

Start out correctly and grow, grow, grow and grow.