1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Thinking of starting up on my own

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Jason_S, May 3, 2004.

1. Jason_S

Jason_S LawnSite Member

Well, I've been working for a landscaper for 5 years now. I'm the foreman and am only bringing in 12/hour, no bennies. As I keep working my butt off, I think more and more that I could easily be doing this on my own and making good money that I feel I deserve.

The company I work for does landscaping and lawn care. I myself, think that lawncare only would be a lot easier on the body over the long run and probably cheaper to start out with since I could get away with a HD pickup instead of having to buy a dumper.

So I guess my big question is.....can I make a good dollar working solo and doing just lawns? I know there are some guys on here that do this, but how difficult would it be?

I really enjoy cutting grass above the typical plant, mulch, and hardscape type jobs.....however, I do know there is a decent markup for such projects.

Do you suggest I try to get work going on the side first, then expand? Is there any way to aquire customers in a discreet enough manner not to raise a red flag with my boss? I don't plan on stealing his accounts but I'd rather keep things private until I can break away. (if I go the part time route, that is)

I'm at one of those points in my life that I really need to jump out of the mediocre paying, going nowhere job so I can buy a house, be able to afford a family, and not live check to check.

Any insight to my ideas and questions would be greatly appreciated, and I am open to suggestions as well.
  2. allstar

allstar LawnSite Senior Member