This is my story!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Buckeye Lawncare, Jun 7, 2006.

1. Buckeye Lawncare

Buckeye Lawncare LawnSite Member

Hello everyone, My name is Brandon, I live and do business in Baltimore, Ohio.
    I started mowing with zero turns when I was 12 when my grandpa died leaving my grandma to mow five acres. When I was a sophmore in high school I went to work for a golf course, crapping thing was I was under 18 and I could only trim and push mow. I worked there until I graduated, when I started working for an independent lawn care guy. I worked for him until this year ( The way he ran his business I did not agree with, and he went on vacation last year I took care of his animals, and I did all the mowing by myself. When he got back he said he was only paying for Xhours because it was bullshit that it took that long to mow all the properties. It only took ten more hours than it took for both of us to mow them. He didn't pay me for the extra ten hours or for taking care of his animals every morning and night)
    So this year I started my own business. Last year I bought my 60" Lazer used off residential guy that only mowed his yard with, got a really good deal on it. This year I took out a loan and bought a truck, trailer, a 52" Exmark WB, and my handhelds. I have 16 accounts and I help out a friend of mine cut his accounts.
    Last May I won the Ohio FFA State Turf grass management award, in October I won the National FFA Award in Louisville, Ky. The FFA has over 450,000 members nationwide. I don't know if anyone is familiar with the FFA, but it is one of the best organization in this country.
    Currently, I am a sophmore at The Ohio State University (go BUCKS) majoring in Ag Business and Applied Economics with a minor in turf grass management.

Here are some pictures of my stuff! The one picture is of the 8 yds of mulch I had on my trailer.