This lady has lost her mind....

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by JMMARICH, Jul 25, 2008.

1. JMMARICH

JMMARICH LawnSite Member

So I am relatively new to actually working in the lawn care business as a professional. I have always done it for neighbors and friends, but obviously I am doing it now to make a fair profit. I advertised in some local neighborhoods and got a response from this lady.

Her house caught on fire, she has been living in an apartment since May, and her house needs alot of work outside to look good again before she moves back in Aug 15. She tells me how much work she would have for me, etc.

I come out there to look and meet her and its a nightmare. Overgrown beds, half the grass is dead, backyard looks like a jungle. And my favorite, the bamboo her 80 year old neighbor planted that is of course, growing into her yard. Expect fireworks when I trim it back she tells me. She tells me her husband always hired two Mexican workers and they cleaned it up in a day. I tell her I will give her an estimate by Saturday and I am starting to think about the job. I think there is 30-40 man hours at this place. At the normal rate, you can probably figure out what I am thinking.

I get ready to start writing up the estimate and find this is my email box.

Hi just to give you an idea. There is a guy that works on our lawn, he cuts the grass, cleans the beds, removes the weeds and trims the Bamboo. He starts working at about 8 in the morning and he finishes the entire yard at about 6 the evening. he does it in one day and I pay him Ten Dollars an Hour. So it cost me about $90.00 for the job. This is only when the yard is overgrown like it is now. He does not have all the tools you have so it takes a bit longer.

After that he comes in twice a month, cuts the grass, keeps it tidy and blows the leaves. He works for about 3 hours and I pay him $10.00 per hour. so that is about $30.00

This is an idea.

Thanks

Fay XXXXXX