This lady is unbelievable!!!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by new2thebiz, Jun 20, 2004.

1. new2thebiz

new2thebiz LawnSite Member

Alright,
    I have this one old lady whos lawn I do, and she is by far the biggest PITA I have ever known. I wish I could aford to raise the price or drop her, but this is my first year in business, and I really cannot aford to lose anyone. Heres the ever-growing list of things shes done so far.
    1. Wants me to cut her lawn as low as I possibly can, and even though I cut it the same length every time, procedes to tell me that it is either too short or too long on a varying basis.

2. Calls me any time I get to her lawn after about 11 AM and lectures me about how "she pays me well" ( really I accidently underbid her) and does not appreciate me putting her last on my priorities, even though I explain to her every time that my route doesnt allow me to get there until about 2.

3. Tried to get me to mow part of a weed field that she said we "agreed upon" in the bid I gave her. (we didnt agree upon it, and I didnt do it).

4. My truck broke down one week and even though I called and told her I would be a day late because of it, she went on a five minute run about how I was unreliable and she should find someone else. ( I'd never missed a mowing date before that).

5. Even though I tell her every time she stops me that I will do the trimming after I finnish the mowing, she stops me at least 3 or 4 times every week to tell me that "I missed some spots"

anyone else have customers this bad but cant aford to lose them?

2. QualityLawnCare4u

QualityLawnCare4u LawnSite Gold Member

New 2 I have one EXACTLY like her. I underpriced her yard badly!
    1) If Im not their by 8am she will call me and complain.
    2) last month ny mower broke down and she statred fussing that I should have another mower to finish her yard with.