1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

This sounds exciting

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by skyguy, Sep 12, 2005.

1. skyguy

skyguy LawnSite Member

I am a recent grad from college(aerospace engineering '04 Purdue University), and I am in a office job that I HATE with a passion. I go into work everyday feeling horrible because it just feels wrong to be there, like I have to die a little just to survive in there. I would LOVE to be outdoors everyday, even if it meant making less, especially if it means I make my own hours, with lots of time for relaxing in the winter. Everything about this lawncare stuff sounds great. I am not too worried about money. I can bear it taking a year or two for this to take off. I recieved an sizable inheritance from my grandmother when she died and I have about 16K saved up in a savings account from my engineering job in addition to that. So basically, I can struggle for a year or two and still not be "struggling." The inheritance was supposed to be for a house and it will be, but I also see it as a safety net, or better put, a source of extreme peace of mind. No matter what happens I have something to fall back on, and with my degree, I can probably find a decent engineering job if this doesn't work out. Basically, WHAT AM I WAITING FOR!? Well, this is a new idea for me, and I need help developing a business plan. Fortunately I live in a well populated area of Virginia. The area is called Hampton Roads. Norfolk, Hampton, Newport News, Williamsburg, Cheasapeake, Virginia Beach are the cites around Hampton Roads. I like in Newport News. Yorktown is also close by. Does anyone know if this is a good area. It gets pretty dry at times, but I think there are enough residential properties around here for there to be good potential for making de