those dang dandelions!!!!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Greengo, Jun 16, 2006.

1. Greengo

Greengo LawnSite Member

folks, i'm new to the big expensive equipment thing. i bought a new zero turn toro this year(piece of crap). one of the yards i'm cutting with it has alot of dandelions in the yard and that dang toro will cut the grass, but leave the dandelions standing up. i'm much better off cutting this yard on my old cheap murray cause it'll cut those dang weeds better. why is this? why does that cheap murray cut a yard full of weeds better than that more expensive toro. i've talked to other guys and i'm not alone. i'm hearing that the x-marks and deeres are leaving those dandelions too.

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

More than one reason, not the least of it are blade type and sharpness, and of course, specific adjustments unique to the characteristics of each machine. You might try a few different settings but before you change one, always remember the previous setting so in case it makes things worse, you can change it back.

3. Greengo

Greengo LawnSite Member

i'm new, what type of settings are you talking about? i've checked the blades and they are plenty sharp. are you talking about blade height.

4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

That's the beauty of the professional machines. They cut grass beautifully, but they don't do so well on weeds. Plantain is usually a hard to get one, also. You may want to try slowing your rpm's down just a bit. Sometimes that helps.

5. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Also try slowing down your travel speed.
    The question is --- when did you last sharpen your blades.
    My guess is that it has been a long time. Try sharpening them every day-- buy 5 sets and do it once a week. Do you have a mulch kit on??

Who is doing lawn care and why are there weeds???

6. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member