Thoughts about Lesco Mowers?!?!?!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by TGK, Oct 23, 2006.

1. TGK

TGK LawnSite Member

Hi, everybody, I am new to the business. Anyway this season I bought a Scag 48`` ride on figuring I could knock out lawns with ease. Well big mistake! I tore up grass. I read on the scag website all about Z turns and executed them perfectly in no time, but still tearing. I have to solve this problem, because I have some unhappy customers.
    Im thinking of purchasing the Lesco walkbehind, or another brand of relatively inexpensive walk behind.

Does anyone have any experience with Lesco? Like them hate them? Also what other brand can be suggested?

Thanks

Chris

2. Rons Rightway Lawncare

Rons Rightway Lawncare LawnSite Bronze Member

Lescos walkbehinds are very good units, I have used them many times and my only gripe was the handlebars seem bent down too much, If I bought one I would heat up the tubing and bent the grips up a inch or two higher.

If you learn how to use a ZTR you would not have tears in the yard, and let me tell you, a walkbehind can tear grass just as easy.

3. Raven386

Raven386 LawnSite Silver Member
    from CT

Lesco w/b's are great. thats all i will ever run.... and im sure Envy will come along to give you his opinion on the ZTR's..... hopefully i can tell you all about them soon too..

4. Rons Rightway Lawncare

Rons Rightway Lawncare LawnSite Bronze Member

Lesco Walkbehinds - the fixed deck ones, not the floating deck ones - are top notch machines, on the same level as any of the other brands, possibly even better than some due to nice touches such as a donaldson aircleaner standard on most walkbehinds...