1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Tick Spraying?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by sgoalie23, May 19, 2007.

1. sgoalie23

sgoalie23 LawnSite Member

I'm new to the tick spraying game and just had a few questions. First, what parts of the customer's property do you spray? Is it the areas where the turf meets wooded areas, the turf and wooded areas, and/or ornamentals? Also, as far as pricing, is by linear foot or sq ft? Last, which product have you found to work best for you? Don't forget I am in the Northeast, Connecticut.

Thanks in advance,

Yes I'm licensed S-5317, B-2370.
  2. boats47

boats47 LawnSite Member

Have you tried Damminex Tick Tubes? 24 tubes will cover you for about a 1/2 acre. It uses permethrin as its active ingredient, which is the same ingredient found in tick collars and sprays. You can charge pretty high for this product as well retail for a 1/2 acre is like $80.00.
  3. Ric

Ric LawnSite Fanatic

First a question for you, Are Ticks a true insects???

Understanding the full life cycle of the pest we want to control is the First step. I am not going to retype what you can Google and read for yourself. In short like many Pests including Ticks like Cracks and crevice to hide their eggs and themselves. Structures have a lot of hidden spots for them. I would recommend a High volume spray of low AI insecticide to reach those Cracks and Crevices and spray at least 10 if not 15 ft high on any structure. The same with trees and ornamental plants. Flooding the area down will help get those hidden places where Ticks might be. 10 gallons per thousand is what I use and I mix the AI to that calibration also.