Tiger Cub vs Lazer Z HP vs JD 717A-Help!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by PTOhioMower, Sep 13, 2004.

1. PTOhioMower

PTOhioMower LawnSite Member

I am finding it very hard to get an unbias opinion from my local dealers. I need help choosing the right mower for me. I am new to the business and will be servicing at least 10 accounts (part time). Most accounts are medium to small residental with a few large yards. Im looking at the Scag Tiger Cub 19/48" $5999, John Deere 717a 19/48" $5795 and the Exmark Lazer Z Hp 23/52" $7100. I want a mower that has an awsome cut and can keep me productive. Price is a factor to a point. But I am willing to spend a few extra bucks to have a superior machine. Do you guys just pay list price or do dealers usually wheel and deal?

Thank you for your help, I Love lawnSite.com!

2. Mark McC

Mark McC LawnSite Bronze Member

Are you sure you want to drop that kind of money into a part-time business? Seems a bit excessive to me unless you're planning a full-time endeavor.

As far as the difference between those three machines is concerned, I don't have any of them, but all three brands have their fans. If your dealer will support all three machines, I'm not sure it makes all that much difference. The only difference I've heard is that Scag builds a more rugged machine for entry-level ZTR mowers than eXmark, but I'm not sure how JD stacks up in that department.

3. PTOhioMower

PTOhioMower LawnSite Member