Tilling or Aerating Prior to Seeding?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by doesgo, Aug 11, 2006.

1. doesgo

doesgo LawnSite Member

I haven't seen this property yet so I'm not exactly sure how bad it really is, but I'm new to this industry and I'll be doing an extimate in a few days for a potential customer who had a septic system installed this past spring and the disturbed area was topsoiled and seeded, but a storm came up shortly thereafter and washed away the seed. Now, naturally, the area is rather weed-infested (not sure what type). The area is approximately 4000 square feet.

The thinking is to chemically kill all the vegetation in the affected area, break up the soil (is has become quite firm over the summer), and then seed it.

The questions I have are:

1) Does this plan of attack seem reasonable? If not, please make suggestions!

2) In my experience, roto-tilling leaves the soil VERY loose. Great for gardens, not so great for lawns. I know the top inch or so should be loose for the seed to penetrate and take hold, but if I've got six inches of very loose soil after tilling, anyone who walks on the area (like me when seeding and fertilizing) will leave deep footprints. What can I do to firm it up somewhat after tilling? Or do I try to only till to a certain depth (not sure that's possible with my lawn tractor-mounted rear tiller)?

3) Would plug aeration be a better option than tilling in this case?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer!

2. Groomer

Groomer LawnSite Bronze Member

Tilling will work, doesn't have to be deep. Rake yourself backwards from center to smooth your tracks after you seed. I sometimes seed lightly twice, instead of a heavy 1 dose. Don't put too much seed down, and a good starter fertilizer raked in doesn't hurt.

3. TurfProSTL

TurfProSTL LawnSite Senior Member

Broadleaf weed control now. Leaving any grass that did come up.

Wait 3 weeks or so. Aerate the area in several directions and overseed.

4. Ric3077