Time to do it ....?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Sharp Services, Aug 28, 2006.

1. Sharp Services

Sharp Services LawnSite Senior Member

First of all let me say ... Mike be nice!

As most of you know I have been running a part time lawn service for several years. I am a cop full time. Well my business is about at the point that I can't handle anymore work, but the phone is still ringing.

I need to make the transition from part time to full time and I cannot quite my police job (to close to retirement and benefits). So I need to start a crew and buy another truck ... only I don't have enough work to pay for them.

The plan ... finish the year out with the help of my son, advertise heavy at the beginning of next growing season and hire 1 guy to train and turn loose.

Has anyone had much luck with a one-man crew or should I keep hitting the streets until I get enough work to keep 2 guys busy?

Any help and direction would be helpful. This is a big step for me.

Thanks in advance.

2. Sharp Services

Hard to believe that no one has any suggestions. Oh, well?

3. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

In the beginning, I had just one guy and let him loose all week. It worked out pretty well in fact. Then as business expanded, we went to 2 and 3 man crews (for mowing).

4. Jpocket

Jpocket LawnSite Silver Member

Personally I don't like the idea of one employee working by himself everyday, plus it's real easy to overbook one guy. Get yourself a 2 man crew that way you'll generate more $$$. One guy is only good for what $1500 per week, and that until he gets tired. You figure $700 of that is going to be his pay. Then your left with $800 and change to pay for fuel and whatever breaks.

Now you get 2 guys they generate $2500 per wk just mowing. Now you'll have $1400 after you pay them, if your paing the main guy $15per hour and his helper $9 per hour in a 45 hour week.

5. nbizati

nbizati LawnSite Member