1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Time To Replace My Suped Up Trimmer

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by powerpuller1966, Dec 30, 2007.

1. powerpuller1966

powerpuller1966 LawnSite Member

Hello all and Happy New Year.

Here is my situation.

I am a single person operation and most of the time trimming is normal string trimming. I use one trimmer for normal trimming and just open up the throttle for brush cutting a handful times a year. Average time spent trimming per site is around 7 minutes while using my special trimmer mentioned here below.

I have been using now for two years an older Sears 31cc 2cycle 18 inch width direct drive curved shaft as my primary machine. I have been using it because it is no longer stock. It has been heavily modified and now a low rpm torque monster. It uses 94 octane pump gas with a 32:1 mix of Klotz castor oil because of the high compression and piston side loads. It now has a 23 inch width of cut and max rpm of 6500 while at a very light stock weight. I operate it all the time at 2000 rpm and it idles at 1500. I don't need to rev it much cause of the torque. It is making so much torque it twists the drive shaft apart. The tube is not worn out and making the shaft break, just brute torque. Before I modified it, it was a great, reliable machine, but underpowered. It is still a great machine but unreliable because I don't know when it is going to break the shaft.

Now here is my problem.