Tips for lco breaking into landscape installation

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Accu-cut Lawn Care, Jan 5, 2007.

1. Accu-cut Lawn Care

Accu-cut Lawn Care LawnSite Bronze Member

I am by no means a newbie when it comes to landscape installation. My first job was with a major landscape company that focused mainly on $50,000+ installs. I've been doing lawn and landscape maint. on my own for more years than I can remember. During this time, I have not done a lot of new landscape installations...But, I have amassed quite the landscaper's toolshed. Recently, I've gotten a few landscape jobs that have been very beneficial for keeping my crew busy(and my wallet a little bit fuller). My question is... What is the best way to get landscape business? My lawn care division has done very well in making its name known; but landcaping is a different animal. I don't think it would be very effective to go door to door passing out flyers for installation jobs(thank god I don't have to do that for mowing anymore). And after trying to advertise in the newspaper last spring, I'm sure that would not be a good avenue either. What is the best route to go?

2. tthomass

tthomass LawnSite Gold Member
    from N. VA

I don't know how many guys you've got but perhaps begin with squeezing them in when you can.......work weekends, pay the guys for the extra work. Hire a couple extra guys to do installations.......if its slow they can help your other guys. They can do anything from sod to installs in general but if you are well known with maint I don't think you'll have much problem picking up lanscaping.

3. Accu-cut Lawn Care