Tips for rock walls

Discussion in 'Hardscaping' started by S&S Outdoor Services, Dec 28, 2009.

1. S&S Outdoor Services

S&S Outdoor Services LawnSite Member

I know retaining walls and paver patios but I have no experience with rock walls. Any tips, required equipment, direction etc. would be helpful. Also a ball park price of costs compared to SRW. Thanks in advance for the help

2. 2low4NH

2low4NH LawnSite Bronze Member
    from NH

dont do it! thats the best advice. i also see that you have been asking alot of wuestions about pricing on the site. Good luck with that. As far as equipment goes
    Mixer-$1200
    hammers,Chisels(carbide)-$1500
    compactor-$4000
    skidsteer-$5000-45000
    excavation contractor-$45-200/hour
    1 ton truck (dump) $4500-65000
    hand tools trowels shovels picks jointers-4000
    thats a rough strat up cost for doing both dry laid or wet walls. it will take about 5 years of building walls before you make any profit on your equipment unless you do alot of walls.
    Just an FYI im the 4th generation of a family Masonry comapny we specialize in stone. I could tell you how much we charge per sqft but you will never get anywhere near that price until you have atleast 5 years under your belt.
    Stone work is a special animal. you can build what looks like a nice wall and have it fall apart in a week or you can have skills and build a beautiful wall that will last a lifetime.

3. S&S Outdoor Services

I was actually talking more about Boulder Walls or whatever you want to call them. Not the concrete walls you're talking about. And I've been in the business for a couple years so we have a good amount of that equipment already. Thanks for the reply

4. 2low4NH

from NH