tips for sending a new but experienced employee out solo

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by TheKingNJ, Apr 12, 2006.

1. TheKingNJ

TheKingNJ LawnSite Senior Member

What kind of things should I look out for or make sure to do if I am having a new but experienced employee go and cut solo. I have 5 weeks of school left about an hour away. I lost my foreman last year, he became a state trooper so I hired an experienced worker to take care of my accounts till I get out of school. Paying $16 an hour. I will be around on weekend and one day a week. I have 48 accounts and all can be taken care of in a week solo. I have been mowing most of them for 3 or 4 years so I know how long they take. I will be having him use a punch time card. What things should I look out for, or do to make sure he is not slackin, or napping on the job, or doing a shabby cut job. Any other advice or suggestion is appreciated.

Thanks.

2. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

Make some follow-up calls to your customers once work has started is prob the best bet...quiet and indiscreet.

3. nitro121

nitro121 LawnSite Senior Member

I just hired an experienced guy to cut my accounts this year....I went from 6 accounts last year to 47 and counting so far w/ just a little advertising. He's good...but he doesn't cut as fast as I did....I guess cause the faster I was the more I made by the hour and he gets $11 no matter how fast he goes. I took off work today and worked 8 hours w/ him so I know he works....he worked Mon. and Tues. only 5 hours each day and I thought he was a little slow...but he does do a good job so I'll keep him.

V/r
    Gary

4. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

11 an hour? Peanuts IMO

5. nitro121

nitro121 LawnSite Senior Member