Tips On a ZTR

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by studentlawn, Jul 1, 2003.

1. studentlawn

studentlawn LawnSite Member

This morning,I purchased my very first ztr. A 1999 Toro Master Z with 42" and 61" decks and a 25hp kohler with only 300 hrs on it. I have no experience with ZTR's so what is everyones input on the obvious things not to do (when using, maintaining, whatever) that might not be so obvious to me?

Im just afraid im going to start cutting with it and my egine will be shot becuase i was supposed to do this or i ruin somebody's yard becuase i was supposed to do this.. help me out guys

2. imograss

imograss LawnSite Senior Member

first, dont practice on a customers lawn, try it out on your own first. get familliar with the machine, these are very dangerous if not used properly. after you feel comfortable mowing with it practice turning without tearing the turf. (3 point turn). and make sure the engine oil is full before using the mower. also hydro oil, tire pressure ect. good luck with your mower!
  3. Lbilawncare

Lbilawncare LawnSite Bronze Member

The obvious things would be, always watch where you're throwing the grass, use the cutting edge side against trees and buildings. I had an employee who kept complaining about getting hit with thrown objects, only to find he was discharging into things. Sharpen your blades regularly. Watch other LCO's in your area for advise on what to do / what not to do.
  4. tralfaz

tralfaz LawnSite Member

Never go front ways down a steep wet hill. Go backwards or sideways. Watch turning around and scuffing up the yard. Most of the time you need to do the 3 point turn but in some grasses (like Zoysia) you don't. If there is a driveway at the end of the yard and it is lower than the yard itself you can turn around without slowing down on the driveway.
  5. 1grnlwn

1grnlwn LawnSite Bronze Member

Put slime or other leak preventive in all tires.
  6. marvinlee

marvinlee LawnSite Member
    from Oregon