To buy or not to buy Fastrak?

Discussion in 'Hustler Turf Equip (Archived)' started by coolhand, Oct 15, 2003.

1. coolhand

coolhand LawnSite Member

Just about to buy a John Deere tractor 120 series. Stopped in to my local Hustler dealer and saw the Fastrak 44 18HP Honda. I only mow a 1/2 acre, but believe in buying quality and buying it once. Is it worth it for a home owner to spend double the price of the JD for this unit? What can I expect for a life span and maint. cost over a riding unit costing half as much. I have some experience with Scags and Bobcat equipment, how does the Hustler quality compare? Thanks!

2. mowerconsultant

mowerconsultant LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Syracuse, NY

From what you are comparing, the Hustler will do the job with a better quality of cut and less time.
    You are looking at a unit that has a fabricated frame, not stamped and a fabricated deck, not stamped.
    This unit also uses a much heavier duty drive system.
    That is where your price is a lot more than the John Deere.
    The added trimming ability and ease of use will have you done with the 1/2 acre of mowing in about 1/2 the time it would with a typical riding lawn tractor.
    As far as maintenance costs go, your FasTrak still has similar items that need to be maintained, blades, air filter, oil and oil filter.
    You will find heavier duty spindle assemblies and a commercial grade engine compared to home owner grade on the JD.
    This will give you many years of trouble free use.
    From checking where your located, it looks like Dunn Equipment is your dealer, Dan will take care of you fro years to come, and he is the Honda engine expert for your neck of the wood, I believe you have a very good combination there.
    If you add all these factors in, it is easy to see why we are more than 1/2 the price more than the JD.