To buy or not to buy????

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Jon99, Apr 23, 2003.

1. Jon99

Jon99 LawnSite Senior Member

This is my first year in the business, to start off with my first mower was a 48" Scag Tiger Cub... At the moment I have 14 residential accounts, 2 banks, a park and a cemetery.. Of my 14 residential accounts, 5 have fenced in back yards that I am mowing with a 21" Deere that I had before to mow my yard.. In anticipation of growing, should I flop down $2K-$3K to buy a 36" belt drive mower???

2. LANDGUARD

LANDGUARD LawnSite Member

Jon99

Sounds like finances are in good shape for you. I would guess that the addition of a 36" mower would definatly increase your output. Do you have enough trailer space for the 36? If so I say go for it.

3. LawnCrafters

LawnCrafters LawnSite Member

If your main mower is a 48 I'd say get a 32. You'll be glad when you come across that one gate that's 35" wide.

4. baddboygeorge

baddboygeorge LawnSite Bronze Member

a scag 32 would be nice addition . i have one if your interested let me know see ya

5. LawnGuy73

LawnGuy73 LawnSite Bronze Member

I'd say go for it

6. Jon99

What kind of 36" mower can I get for $2-$3K????? Really haven't priced them too much other than a few 2 year old used scag belt drives for $1800...(same mower new for $2800)

Kinda like the Exmark ECS system....

7. roscioli

roscioli LawnSite Senior Member