To expand or not to expand?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lasher66, May 22, 2002.

1. lasher66

lasher66 LawnSite Senior Member

HI,
    I have a little choice that I am trying to decide on. I have been cutting for 4 yrs. now by myself. I do about 45 to 50 accounts a week and I work a part time job in the morning. I was wondering if it was worth trying to expand my business and does the money really start to come in if I do expand? I gross in the spring time about $1300 a week cutting grass. If I expand can I increase this number by a lot ? Or will I just be creating many headaches and not much more money? Many people tell me that I am doing good enough the way I am, but I am always looking for better opportunities to better my business and myself. Thanks for any help.

52" Bunton Rider
    36" Bunton Walk behind
    16' double axle trailer
    2 echo weedwackers
    1 echo backpack
    1988 Ford F150 (work truck)
    1999 Dodge Ram (trying not to beat this one up)

Lasher66

2. scottb

scottb LawnSite Senior Member

If you you enjoy it than go for it. I know that I will as soon as I can work a few more things out.

3. ADMowing

ADMowing LawnSite Member
    from Florida

Hi Lasher66!

First of all, we own Bunton and really love them! I noticed that at the end of your post.

As far as your decision -- what do YOU want to do with your life??? If the business is there and you want to be an LCO full time, then go for it! If you're not really sure about additional business being there, maybe keep the part time job until you've got stuff paid off and can afford to live solely off the LCO business.

Whenever we think about getting different jobs -- we just look at each other and say, "Nahhhhh." We like what we do. That is what is important! Like what you do! You've got to get up every day and do it. If you really like it, you'll make it work!!!

4. lawnkid

lawnkid LawnSite Senior Member