1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

To wait or not to wait, that is the question.

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by BLandL, Mar 28, 2007.

1. BLandL

BLandL LawnSite Member

Hi everyone. Ive been watching this thread for a few years now and seeing what you all have to say. I have an excellent job working in a factory making 50k plus a yr, but my true dream is to open a lawn care business and turn it into a garden center someday. I have a degree in horticulture and am very good with the yard care thing and have worked at garden centers for about 6 yrs b4 I got this factory job. My question is what do you really need to get started, what a good price to charge, and if anyone knows the prices to start a garden center/nursery would be very much appreciated.
  2. BLandL

BLandL LawnSite Member

please help me
  3. Gilligan

Gilligan LawnSite Member
    from Florida

I hope this doesn't come off as mean, but if you have been reading here for a few years and you don't know what equipment you can start with, or what is a good price to charge, then you still have alot more reading to do...

and my opinion is wait.... and read read read....

its all here...multiple times.....
  4. J&R Landscaping

J&R Landscaping LawnSite Fanatic

As far as opening the garden center is concerned, you will have to find real estate to build it on or buy a prebuilt building. Then you will need to find out what you can and will stock and such. You'll probably need a re-sellers license unless you grow everything yourself.