Too good to be true!?!?!?!?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by chris buck, Feb 6, 2013.

1. chris buck

chris buck LawnSite Member

Was gonna buy a ztr and mow around 15-20 yards this year on my days off. I am a career firefighter so I work 24 hrs and am off 48, leaving me plenty of time to mow. But, recently I have been made aware of a established mowing company in town wanting to sell out. Talked to the guy briefly today, and he told me if I would buy his equipment, he would throw in the clients with it. He has a truck if needed, 24' enclosed trailer, 3 diesel grasshoppers, 2 walk behinds, and various other small items. Said price for all the equipment would be around 50k. Has 50 or so contracts, with some having multiple yards. Grossed alittle over 100k the past couple years. Has one employee that mows for him.

A LOT of info for me and my wife to decipher!!!!!!! I know there is tons of factors, but does this seem like a good opportunity to pursue to you guys?????? Thanks very much!! I've been mowing for years, so that isn't the problem, it's the actual owning and running the business!!

2. nnusskern

nnusskern LawnSite Member

If I were you I would not buy all of it. Maybe see if you can buy some of the equipment and get sone of the accounts. Because that is alot of money tied up and a lot if accounts to jump in feet first. I would see if you can get his some of his accounts and start small and grow. Sorry to get off topic but how do you like being career firefighter? I am 16 and am volunteer firefighter and love it and am considering trying to do it for career along with landscaping. Do you do first responder or ems and do you have a degree related to fire service if you don't mind me asking.
    Posted via Mobile Device

3. Pietro

Pietro LawnSite Senior Member