1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

Too much overhead??

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by lennonpaul, Jan 8, 2002.

1. lennonpaul

lennonpaul LawnSite Member

I've been in business for two years now, this past year I dedicated a bit more time to it. Im a solo operator which has help from time to time, but IM definitely running my self into the ground with all this work. Anyway IM not sure if Im overdoing it on the overhead, or maybe i'd like to just be debt free quicker, dont know. BUt heres my lineup
    86 f150 with ez dumper
    86 f150
    94 New Holland Skidsteer L553
    150gravely 50" deck
    troybuilt 33"deck
    tractor lawnmower 46"
    2 ryhobis weed wacker
    1echo weed wacker
    stihl 025 chainsaw
    2 backpack blowers redmax & poulan
    Billgoat 16 HP tailgate debris loader
    Little WOnder 19 hp blower
    5x12 open trailer
    8x20 pintle hook trailer 6 ton

I havent used the skidsteer all that much but can i really get my money out of it , considering its expense and i have to have commercial insurance to drag the trailer its on. Did i make the right choices? any suggestions
    thanks
    paul

2. Lanelle

Lanelle LawnSite Bronze Member

It's a little hard to tell how you are doing without knowing what type of work you are doing and the size of the projects. Can you give us a better idea of the work that you are doing?

3. lennonpaul

i do a little bit of everything. I mow, mulch, trim bushes, brush clearing, aerating, leaf removal, grade lots, small tree removal, etc....

4. Mechanized labor is where this industry is heading.

5. HBFOXJr

HBFOXJr LawnSite Bronze Member