tools

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Mr.Lawn, Dec 29, 2006.

1. Mr.Lawn

Mr.Lawn LawnSite Member
    from Florida

Hey folks, I had a quick question. I am just starting out and was putting together a tool box to carry with me. Can anyone help. Thanks

2. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

Depending on the size of the toolbox in your trailer or truck, a decent toolbox can be one of your best assets. If you don't have the trailer space...make it. You atLEAST want a decent toolset. Craftsman's sets like their 263 piece set are a great start. They have all the essentials, and you aren't digging and hunting for the stuff you need. It's fast and easy. these sets are excellent and are often on sale for as little as around $160. Now, as you go on, you will learn that you always want to carry extras with you like an assortment of nuts and bolts, screws, cotterpins, some wire, rope, electrical tape, duct tape, some extra fuel caps and/or rubber seal rings, breaker bar, and various other things. Stuff like the assorted nuts and bolts, I carry in the cake tins like what fruitcakes come in. The assorted cotterpins and keys, I keep in a plastic compartment container. All of this goes into a truckbox type toolbox that is a bit smaller. It is a poly chest. A seperate set of tools (the craftsman set described above) rides seperate in the underbody box of the truck. Anyway, these are some of the ESSENTIALS that you want or need to carry. Of course, don't forget fire extinguishers and a first aid kit.

3. larryslawn

larryslawn LawnSite Member

I also like to put hand cleaner,eye wash, two cycle oil, grease gun and even my small hand tool's like bypass prunner's ect.

4. TURFLORD

TURFLORD LawnSite Senior Member

Don't forget a hook knife, dedicated rachets w/sockets and a cheater pipe to change blades, spare blades, lug wrench and screw type scissor jack for flat tires.

5. Lawn Enforcer

Lawn Enforcer LawnSite Silver Member