tools?

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by moparman, Jan 28, 2007.

1. moparman

moparman LawnSite Member
    from pa

what tools should i get i need a complete set. where can i get one and how much?

2. dutch1

dutch1 LawnSite Silver Member
    from Jayhawk

I have my preferences on tools but you didn't indicate how much of the "long green" that you're willing to part with. The sky is the limit if you go the Snap On, Matco or Mac route.

Dutch

3. dcondon

dcondon LawnSite Silver Member

Snap On are great tools but your talking lots of $$$$$. I have always had good luck with hand tools from Sears.

4. Tadams

Tadams LawnSite Senior Member

I don't think you can buy a "compete set". I have been buying tools for over 15 years and I still don't have a complete set. Are you talking about sockets and wrenches, metric or standard, air tools, irrigation tools, plumbing tools, carpentry tools, HVAC tools? There are a lot of tools that you might need in the course of being a man, husband, father, LCO, do-it-youselfer.

All this considered, you can go down to Sears and buy one of their tool sets that will set you back a couple hundred bucks. They are pretty good tools for the price. The more you try to work on and fix stuff yourself, the more tools you will have to buy. I have tools in my building, garage, my dad's house, and in both trucks. Ya never can have too many tools.

Oh, one more thing- if ya let someone "borrow" a tool, make sure you write the person's name down and what tool they "borrowed" so when you go to look for that tool when you need it, you know who to call up because they "forgot" that they had it.

5. Uranus

Uranus LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Mass