top quality, those days are behind us

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by bobbygedd, Jul 25, 2005.

1. bobbygedd

bobbygedd LawnSite Fanatic
    from NJ

it was once a belief, that perhaps held some water, that you should do a top quality job, at a premium rate. those days are behind us now. for alot of people, having a lawn service is no longer a luxery, but a neccesity. almost every household is a 2 income household, husband and wife both working, kids in daycare or at the babysitters, high mortgages and car payments must be made. this forces both parents to work, and even dad gets a part time thing on saturday for some fun money. so, they are looking for a REASONABLE quality service, at a moderate price. when i worked in the printing industry, i saw a change over time. the type of work we did is called "inline finishing". originally, a product would be printed at one facility, then shipped to other facilities to be die cut, glued, and folded on different type of equipment. inline finishing however, was the art of doing all of those steps, on one big machine, all at the same time, and eliminating all the other "middlemen". now, this was never done before. i worked for the man who invented this process in the late sixties. by the late 70's/early 80's, he perfected the process. that's when i started, in the early 80's. he charged an obscene fortune for his work, and why not, nobody else could do it. he also produced a top quality product. as the years went on, and others began duplicating his process, his value went down. by the time i left the industry in 03, the "top quality" approach had diminished to "borderline commercially acceptible" and "whatever we can get away with" and was sold at a competitive price. the same thing is happening in the mowing business. people no longer, as a whole, are willing to pay top dollar for a top job. they want commercially acceptible, at a reasonable rate. how do we survive ? keep overhead low LOW LOW, and cut corners, no one