Toro Commercial 2000 vs John Deere 915B

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing Equipment' started by OUSooners14, Aug 7, 2013.

1. OUSooners14

OUSooners14 LawnSite Member

I will be buying one of the two mowers which one should I go with
    John Deere 54 inch- $6995
    Toro 52 inch- $6349

image.jpg

2. Toro 455

Toro 455 LawnSite Member

JD is always the best value. More mower for your money. Frequently the choice of purchasing agents.

Toro is more for the "price is not a factor" crowd. High end golf courses etc.

It's hard to believe a similarly equipped Toro prices under a JD. Does it have the same motor, pumps, etc.?
    It doesn't sound like Toro's COMMERCIAL grade mower but one of their lesser lines.

As a solo operator I went to Toro 20 years ago. Yeah, they're expensive to fix. This month my maintenance was $7,400. New tires, wheel bearings, gearbox and a belt. But it's got close to 4,000 hours. The motor & transmission is good. And it's cheaper than a new one.
    Toro's are sweet to run. Tougher than you'd expect. If I accidentally run over a brick I'm thinking, "OH! I'll have to sharpen a blade." Not "I'm going to have to replace a spindle."

3. OUSooners14

OUSooners14 LawnSite Member

The John Deere is a 23.9 kohler engine and the Toro is a 23.5 Kawasaki engine, I think the pumps are the same on both the mowers and if not I think the John Deere may be 1 or 2cc larger than the Toro, and the tires on the John Deere are 1 inch larger in diameter and 2.5 inches wider in width

4. Ridin' Green

Ridin' Green LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Michigan

The JD is a little heavier duty machine, and the the 7 Iron II deck is outstanding in QOC. I have nothing against Toro, just know the JD is more bang for the buck. Set the JD's rear's at 12 psi and the front's at 15 psi and check the deck for pitch (should be down at front end of blades 1/4" on dead flat, smooth surface) and side to side level, and never look back.

5. smallengineshop

smallengineshop LawnSite Member