Toro Grandstand Review.....

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LawnScapers of Dayton, Jun 13, 2009.

1. LawnScapers of Dayton

LawnScapers of Dayton LawnSite Silver Member
    Male, from Dayton, OH

I bought a 23hp 52" GS on Thursday. I have to say that the machine is built very well. The ride is very nice and above all the cut quality is fantastic.

I have been mowing with Wright Standers for 6 years... I really love the agility and speed of those machines but I finally had enough with the poor cut quality when mower conditions were not perfect.

I mowed 17 lawns on my first day out on the machine. My overall rating would be an A, with some small areas that have room for improvement.......many of which I think I can make some adjustments and solve.

Things I like:
    1. the cut quality - I mowed in a drizzle in the morning and had no problems with clumping.....With the Stander I probably would have been cussing.... As conditions improved things just got better.... Eventually I adjusted the baffle closed and was very impressed with the dispersion of the clippings..

2. The ride was very comfortable. I got to do some hill mowing and it did just fine once I got the "feel" of it.

Things I could like better...

1. the speed - I am gonna mess around with this a little......I am sure this can be adjusted up....

2. the control panel is at what I think is an awkward angle. the control ar kinda in the way of easily getting to the throttle, etc... this is something I will just have to get used to...

3. Control levers were VERY stiff......hoping to adjust those as well.....

Overall I have very happy...... I think as I get more time on it, and the controls before more "sub-conscience" it will get even better.....

2. delphied

delphied LawnSite Silver Member

Whats the word on the striping? I am going to demo one next week. Do you know if there is a huge difference between a 52 and 48 on uneven lawns, etc.?

3. LawnScapers of Dayton

Male, from Dayton, OH