Toro mowers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by southside, Apr 10, 2000.

1. southside

southside LawnSite Senior Member

Well,finally I've had enough.My Kubota T1760<br>with catcher has finally pissed me off!<br>It has a liquid cooled 17hp Kawasaki v twin,<br>and it is the most unreliable crap I have used. My question is,what is the Toro gear<br>like? I am looking at either a 921D or a<br>Z325.I need high speed,strenght and a real <br>nice cut.I also MUST be able to bag with it.<br>It is a requirement of most of my mowing jobs<br>over here.Toro and Walker are the only <br>decent American brand in Australia.Any advise<br>on the Toro gear is appreciated.<p>Thanks,<br>Karl

2. kermit

kermit LawnSite Member

Karl I hope this helps. I have a Toro grroundsmaster 18 horsepower, 44&quot; cut. The cut is great, the machine is reliable,bagging works great on grass and leaves. It gets hard to start when the temperature dips to near freezing in the fall which probably isn't a problem down under.<br>The Kohler engines only seem to last about 2500 hrs before needing rebuild. The heat coming off the engine in July is terrible!<br>If I had to do it over again I'd buy a Zero turn machine, but I have too much invested at this point to change. Hope this is of some help.

3. southside

Kermit,Whats the groundsmaster like speed-wise? I only do large commercial sites and<br>need a good ground speed.

4. nlminc

nlminc LawnSite Bronze Member
    from GA

Karl, How about one of those Dixie Choppers with the grass catcher mounted on it. I was at a dealer buying my 2 new choppers that I will use for side discharge and a local contractor came in told me the catcher is the best thing since sliced bread. He said that it never clogged up and still moves along at high speed. <p>Chris

5. kermit

kermit LawnSite Member

Karl, I only do high end residential so the 7mph speed doesn't matter to me. If speed is one of your primary concerns there are higher speed machines.

6. cutntrim