Toro or Gravely??

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by locked out lawn guy, Jul 1, 2006.

1. locked out lawn guy

locked out lawn guy LawnSite Member

I'm a newbie again, I mowed commercially about 6 years ago, for a large lawn care. Since a recent involuntary job change i'm started up mowing again. My question is I have two 21" push mowers i'm looking to get a walk behind. Here's what the local mower sales have in stock. Used.

36" Gravely pro 1336 floating deck, belt drive for 2000$ 18hrs.
    52" Toro T- Handle 1,150$$ :confused:

Would any of you mess with either, or prefer one or the other and why?
    I used all John Deere stuff when I mowed before. Didn't really like them.
    And easy with the brow beating, only if it's good. :hammerhead:

2. brizz

brizz LawnSite Member

Gravely is second rate and the Toro tends to scalp alot.
  3. brizz

brizz LawnSite Member

A true mowing machine. Unless you want to put down the money and get a Hustler
  4. SWD

SWD LawnSite Senior Member

Both Gravely and Toro are good machines.
    The real question for you is what is the intended use of the mowers.
    Provided you are mowing larger properties, obtain the larger machine.
    Gated, or smaller properties with more obstructions, the more narrow deck is actually to your advantage.
    Since you do not mention actual age of the machines, at first review, the Gravely is the better choice if it has the pro-steer and not the pistol grips, yet you need to decide on what is best for your application.
    I have several Pro G 36 wb that my crews use, and the feedback on the machines is very positive. The pro-steer has saved me a bunch of money on busted hands when mowing next to the rocked homes and walls common in my area.
  5. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member

My @$$ gravely is a second rate machine.