Toro walk behind tune- up

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by chesapeakebay, Dec 13, 2005.

1. chesapeakebay

chesapeakebay LawnSite Member

I took my 37" Toro walk behind in to a local dealer here in Virginia Beach last week for a $60 tune up. The mower is 4 years old. I was told it would be ready in about 6 days. I was never called so I called today to check the status and was told that it was ready and that the price for service was $316.00. They replaced a lot of parts and did a lot of work without my approval. I complained (a little) and they dropped one hour of service from the price which brought it down to $251.00.

Is this common? I'm new to the business.

2. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member

What did they replace? For future reference, ALWAYS do your own tune-ups, some dealers know nothing about basic tune ups and end up replacing belts gear lube and everything else under the sun. This is the normal treatment from a dealer, however, you should have been notified about the extra charges/work. Learn to do your own maintenance and use the dealer only to buy parts/new equipment. JM 2 cents

3. Restrorob

Restrorob LawnSite Fanatic

That is by NO means common, If you took your unit in for a tune-up ONLY thats ALL they had approval to do. They should have listed all work above a standard tune-up and called you with a estimate for the extra work and gotten your approval on it BEFORE performing the work. That is standard practice where I work, Never Ever perform extra work without prier approval.
    If it were me I think I smell a law suit. I see no need in saying find another shop but what the hey, In the future ALWAYS ask for a estimate before even a simple tune-up is performed and make sure estimate is written on the work order before signing it.

Sorry to hear you got the screw, Hope you can do something about it !

Good Luck

4. chesapeakebay