Tracks: Metal vs. Rubber

Discussion in 'Heavy Equipment & Pavement' started by carcrz, Feb 1, 2007.

1. carcrz

carcrz LawnSite Silver Member

I've got some tracks for my Case 1845C. They came w/ it when I bought it, but I haven't even used them once. They were used at a quarry though.

I was wondering, how do the rubber tracks do in the mud & situations you would be using the metal ones? I am thinking about selling these so I can use the rubber ones on pavement while pushing snow. Or, are the rubber ones even worth it for that?

2. Boondox

Boondox LawnSite Member

I'm an absolute novice with tracked equipment and this is one of the big decisions in the purchase of my first mini excavator. I thought steel would be better because so much of my time will be spent in the forest or in streambed lined with stone. But all the local dealers swear the rubber offers better traction and is very durable. Yesterday at my local Volvo dealer I noticed every unit they had in their rental fleet (except an enormous 90,000# monster) had rubber. They were used hard and none of them showed significant damage even after being used in some of our local granite quarries. I test drove a JCB with metal tracks and in the sort of clay I have in my area they quickly loaded up with mud and turned into slicks...but the rubber tracks shed the mud very effectively and let me get around just fine.

Rubber also worked well in snow, but if there was ice below it the steel had an advantage. I realize every situation is a compromise, but for me rubber was the clear winner.

3. DiyDave

DiyDave LawnSite Bronze Member