Trailer ball hitch question

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by Petr51488, Oct 25, 2007.

1. Petr51488

Petr51488 LawnSite Silver Member
    from NJ

I need a drop hitch for my new truck, but don't know how much of drop i need. The truck should be here in 2 weeks. I was looking in northern tool and found this ball hitch. http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/...omer driven-_-Recently Viewed-_-Category Page

It says it has a 12 inch vertical adjustment. Now this may sound like a stupid questions, because i've never done it before, but can i flip this hitch around so it acts as a 12 inch drop? Or is it only made to be a raised hitch. The last thing i need is this thing snapping off while towing 13k pounds. Any opinions on this one from northern tool? Also it doesn't state the reciever size. Would this be the standard on all trucks? Its for the New body style gmc 2500hd

2. IA_James

IA_James LawnSite Silver Member
    from Iowa

You could buy that, and it should work for ya. 12" of vertical adjustment could be used in either direction. But you're going to wind up with about 6" extra inches of receiver hanging down. If you got a 4x4, a 5 1/4" or 6" drop should be plenty, depending on how much the truck actually sags with the trailer on. It looks like this one is only good up to 10k lbs. though, do you need more than that?

3. Petr51488

from NJ

I would rather have more than i never need so i never have to worry about it. But on the other hand, i dont want to spend 300.00 on a hitch.

4. TLS

TLS LawnSite Fanatic

The drawbar you listed in your link won't tow 13K lbs.

And without a CDL, you can't anyway.

Will you be towing different trailers with different hitch heights?

I would just see what you need and buy that.

When I went from my '90 C/K to my '04 new style, I went from a 2" drop to a 4" drop. From what I've heard the new '08's aren't different.

Here is what I have now.
    [​IMG]