Trailer tires?

Discussion in 'Trucks and Trailers' started by Tharrell, Oct 27, 2007.

1. Tharrell

Tharrell LawnSite Silver Member

What BRAND tires are you using on your trailers? Tony

2. weeble67

weeble67 LawnSite Senior Member

I run BFG's Radials

3. JimQ

JimQ LawnSite Bronze Member

In a past life I worked as a Test Engineer in the automotive industry. The businesses I worked for specialized in tires and wheels.

Experience tells me, MICHELIN is the way to go. They are generally pretty pricey but they wear like iron and hold up well in severe operating conditions. (overloaded, over/under pressure). They put a lot of engineering into their products.

Q

4. Tharrell

Tharrell LawnSite Silver Member

BFG and Michelin, they make trailer tires? I learned a lot about trailer tires last week after one of mine blew and shredded a trailer fender. I'm not going to use anything but ST designated trailer tires. I'm leaning towards the Goodyear Marathons. Tony

5. JimQ

JimQ LawnSite Bronze Member

Good point. ST (Special Trailer) tires generally have a stiffer sidewall. The trailer is less prone to sway especially on single axle trailers.

Q

6. scottishmaximus

scottishmaximus LawnSite Senior Member
    from ohio

It is my understanding that trailer tires don't have the testing that automobile tires do.

Going with experience, i have yet to find a nice trailer tire. I have had the worst luck with Carlisles and have seen blowout after blowout and i'm within the weight tolerences, max psi, and have checked the alignment. Search the internet and you'll see all kinds of problems with them, but maybe they have changed them. I put my faith in a truck tire over a trailer tire.

7. BrianC636

BrianC636 LawnSite Member

On my enclosed trailer I run the Maxxis M8008 (I think) radial. Had great luck with them so far.

8. cpel2004

cpel2004 LawnSite Bronze Member

Jim Q what model of tire do you use?

9. Keith

Keith LawnSite Gold Member