Transporting shrubs/plants

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by alpine692003, Jun 25, 2004.

1. alpine692003

alpine692003 LawnSite Bronze Member

What do you guys think is the best idea on how to transport shrubs/plants to another location? I've never done this before but my regular customer told me she wants these 4 cedars moved to another location! They were planted about in MAY so the roots are still new I guess?

Then there's another tree that has been there for a while, like a few years...

What's the best procedure for transporting them? Should you do it when it's in fall? What should I watch out for? What can I or shoudn't I dO?!?!?

:confused: :cool:

2. GrazerZ

GrazerZ LawnSite Senior Member

If they are small enough, dig and move. If they are large, you'll have to ball the roots and burlap. whatever you do get your hands on some ROOTS 4-4-4 I think its called. tried this stuff when moving two 10' junipers about two years ago and did'nt even get any tip browning. We also will sometimes throw in the planting hole some soil moist around this time of the year.

3. Loganwildman

Loganwildman LawnSite Member

Do you guys cover your plants when transporting? I've heard they can really dry out if you don't

4. royallandscaper

royallandscaper LawnSite Member

Depending on how large the new cedars are and who planted them they should still have the burlap around them and should also still be in the cage which would make them very easy to transplant.
    With the older tree just make sure you get as large of a rootball as you can and I agree with the other post, use ROOT. I would suggest waiting until fall.

To answer the other post, it's always a good idea to tarp any plants during transporting.

Rodney

5. Ice_Gargoylle

Ice_Gargoylle LawnSite Member
    from indiana

within 1-1.5 years planted you can just dig and replant. older stuff is much different.