tree care question

Discussion in 'Organic Lawn Care' started by mrkosar, Jul 1, 2008.

1. mrkosar

mrkosar LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio

i have no experience with tree care and don't plan on getting into it, but was wondering if anyone applies a natural control for japanese beetles?

2. ICT Bill

ICT Bill LawnSite Platinum Member

There are strains of bacillus thurengensis that control them in the soil at the larval stage. there is also an off the shelf product, milky spore it is a diiferent strain that I don't remember off the top of my head

it does not control the adults, just kills off the larval stage, the fungus enter the gut and it eats the grub from the inside out. The grub then becomes BIO-MASS

3. DeepGreenLawn

DeepGreenLawn LawnSite Silver Member

I am currently testing different products myself, nothing big, just home remedy type stuff. As of right now there is nothing that controls the adults, organic or traditional. The stuff ICT was talking about works for grubs BUT if you don't apply your neighbors and their neighbors then you still have beetles. Next year I plan on putting out A LOT of traps away from my roses to see if that helps at all. They say traps attract more than they catch but I am thinking if I can attract them away from my roses and into the trap it might make a difference. I think I got started a little late to get a good barrier going. I sprayed my current solution, and came back the next day. Not a beetle in sight.

Any thoughts as to why?

I was there too early, I came back about lunch and they were swarming as usual. Talk about a downer.

4. treegal1

treegal1 LawnSite Gold Member

nothing that's all natural, there's some thing on the horizon, its a bio chem, that's it for the real 80+ percent efficacy treatments. fipronil wont hardly touch them!!!

neem oil will help some...................

5. mrkosar

mrkosar LawnSite Senior Member
    from Ohio

what do the chemical tree guys spray then?

6. ICT Bill