Trees with roots above ground

Discussion in 'Homeowner Assistance Forum' started by Newgrdnr, Apr 27, 2008.

1. Newgrdnr

Newgrdnr LawnSite Member

I am new to gardening and have a question. What do you do about maple tree roots above ground? My backyard is a "minefield" of knots, and I think I'm using up my allotted "falls without breaking anything" pretty fast. My son wants to cut off the knots, but I feel it might damage the trees. I love my shady yard and want to keep it WITH trees.
  2. Kate Butler

Kate Butler LawnSite Senior Member

"cutting off the knots" is a BAD idea. The sensible (although more expensive) way to go is to bring in enough topsoil to make them less noticeable and then reseed.
  3. ATL Lawn

ATL Lawn LawnSite Senior Member

bring in dirt.. 4" to 6"
  4. Newt*

Newt* LawnSite Member

Newgrdnr, you really gave me a giggle with your statement, "I think I'm using up my allotted "falls without breaking anything" pretty fast." :D Maples develop large surface roots over time. If you cut them you risk infection to the tree. The tree can also become unstable. Unfortunately if you cover them with 4" to 6" of soil and then plant grass, you also risk the health of your trees. The extra watering and fertilizing, along with any herbicides won't make your trees happy. The tree roots will have to compete with the grass. Besides, if the soil you add is shallow enough, the roots will again surface over time.

I would suggest you put down enough mulch to even the level with the top of the roots so you can walk without tripping. Here's some helpful info on how tree roots grow and how to mulch.

5. Newgrdnr

Newgrdnr LawnSite Member

Thank you for the info! That is what I thought, but now I have backup! I'm going to check the local nurseries and see what I can do about a load of topsoil. I'd rather eat mac and cheese for a while than take down my trees.
    When I'm gone my family can "have at it". (I plan to be around for another 15 to 20 years.)
  6. Newgrdnr