trimmer operation speed....

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by sdm1976, Jun 15, 2007.

1. sdm1976

sdm1976 LawnSite Member

I am new to the business and have never owned any commercial equipemnt until now. This question may have been kicked around a hundred times and could be a worn out topic,but do you have to run a trimmer at full throttle to increase the life of the engine? I have heard to run it full tilt or it will foul the plug. thanks for any info
  2. Grits

Grits LawnSite Silver Member
    from Florida

They are made to run at full throttle, but running at such a high speed is silly most of the time. I tend to run mine at about half throttle in most situations. Sometimes I run at full throttle if there is a decent sized area of grass that was unable to be reached with a mower.
  3. johndeerefan

johndeerefan LawnSite Member

yep same with me
  4. coonman

coonman LawnSite Senior Member

Same here. My Redmax is going on its 4th season. Don't worry about it.
  5. sweatyclippingcoveredguy

sweatyclippingcoveredguy LawnSite Member

Anywhere there is a possiblility to throw stones or damage something I keep it low. Otherwise, full speed ahead.
  6. lawnmaniac883

lawnmaniac883 LawnSite Silver Member

Only use enough throttle to get the job done. Saves gas and trimmer line. I run it at wot when I need to but usually half throttle does it.
  7. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member

I also run mine at around half-throttle. Trimmer line is so far advanced in design, it cuts easily without needing tremendous speed.