Trimmer trouble

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Highlander, Jul 31, 2002.

1. Highlander

Highlander LawnSite Member
    from Florida

Maybe a lot of eyes will roll when I say that I have been using a Homelite trimmer for the last three years (for many it "ain't" real unless it is labelled commercial). I purchased a Tanaka with several attachments at the same time as the Homelite but never used it as a trimmer until today (because the Homelite finally gave out). Turns out that the Tanaka rotatates in the opposite direction as the Homelite and I spent the whole day learning how to trim backwards due to the couter clockwise rotation of the head. A quick call to the dealer revealed that "all commercial trimmers rotate in the opposite direction when compared to residential models." My questions to you guys are:

1) Why the oppostite rotation?

2) Do you have to trim walking backwards or is there a better way?

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Jim
    Lawns Plus

2. General Grounds

General Grounds LawnSite Senior Member

:blob3: always walk to the left and backward days are over. as for the opposite rotation dealer claims that the grass will lift as opposed to getting pushed down. tony

3. BigJim

BigJim LawnSite Senior Member

Thats why I only use Homelite,I got sick of doing everything backwards and getting covered in grass all the time.If you got 3 years out of the Homelite why didn't you buy another?.The heads on the other brand trimmers spin the opposite way because the idiots that designed them have obviously never used one day in day out in a commercial situation.Now wait for 3000 posts from all the other brand trimmer users pouring **** on Homelite.:D .Cheers...

4. 1grnlwn

1grnlwn LawnSite Bronze Member