Trimmers

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Skinnies LLC, Nov 10, 2003.

1. Skinnies LLC

Skinnies LLC LawnSite Member

I have been using the echo srm 230 trimmers for two years and it seems as though by the end of the season I am putting them in the shop for carb work. I am using echo oil mixture and it is mix to the "T". Is anyone else having this prob? Should I just go and purchase a couple of Stilh's?

2. chief5139

chief5139 LawnSite Member

Question are you using 92 octane fuel to mix it with because when you put mix into gas it drops the octane down alot. and that could be why and the newer echo mix has fuel stabilizer in the mix if your using older stuff you might need to add some extra

3. Skinnies LLC

Atually I use sunoco 94 octane that is the highest octane I can get in my area. I use 94 in all my lawn equipment. It is a little costly but my ex-mark Lazer Z HP 52in has been going strong on it for 3 years with no issues. Also Stilh blower and stick edger again no issues and its been 3 yrs. Maybe I should go stilh all the way around.

4. G-father

G-father LawnSite Member

Skinnies - Give me more of an explanation of "carb work"

Does the equipment sit around for long periods of time?

Does it bounce around on the trailer a lot?

Octane has nothing to do with the carb. Does the Echo oil have fuel stabilizer mixed with it? more info please.

5. Skinnies LLC

G- Father,