1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Trimming bushes way back?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by gogetter, Oct 26, 2001.

1. gogetter

gogetter Banned

I asked this recently but I think it was lost when LS went out for a while.
    Anyway, I have a customer who asked me to trim her bushes back to the branches for the winter.
    Isn't it a bad idea to trim any bushes back that far, let alone right before winter?
    I haven't responded to her yet. Wanted some input first. Thanks!

ERIC ROBERGE LawnSite Member

I am not a professional landscaper so anyone correct me if I am wrong. From what I have read on the subject you need to wait until very early spring to cut back the bushes. Right before or at the time they become active again. This is because the plant will pull the nutrients from the leaves and stems down to the roots to get them through the winter.
    You also dont want to stress the plant during a time it can`t repair itself and recover. Cutting back a plant can also cause it to produce a lot of new growth which will not have time to harden itself against the harsh temps and winds of winter.
  3. sheppard

sheppard LawnSite Senior Member

4. UrbanEarth

UrbanEarth LawnSite Member

What kind of shrubs are they? Why does she want it done? (looks, thinks it's too big?)

5. gogetter

gogetter Banned

Alan, I kinda embarrassed to say, but I don't know what kind they are. Still haven't found a good book to help me with that stuff yet (plant identification).

As far as why, it's the overall size. When I trimmed them earlier this season, she showed me how far in she wanted me to go. I explained to her that this would leave the bush bare, no green left. Explained it would look pretty bad. So I took them back as far as I could before hitting bare branches.