Trimming Crepe Myrtles

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by Sunstate Lawn, Jan 28, 2008.

1. Sunstate Lawn

Sunstate Lawn LawnSite Member

I have heard two schools of thought on this. One is that you should cut all the branches back to the stalks, and the other is that you should leave branches on the stalks. :confused:Opinions?

Sunstate

2. FIRESCOOBY

FIRESCOOBY LawnSite Senior Member

I'm no expert on pruning at all, so take this for what it's worth. I've done both for various reasons. I think a lot of it depends on what you're trying to achieve and if it has been allowed to grow "unchecked" for some time.

I think many times you might be able to just do some slight selective pruning. Other times it seems like it might be healthier to do some in depth pruning. Like I said, it depends on what look you're trying achieve and the health of the plant.

3. Homegrown

Homegrown LawnSite Member

Don't lop the tops off, remove branches smaller than a pencil and any suckers at the base, leaving 3-4 main trunks. google crepe murder:clapping:

4. SILVERSTREAK INC

SILVERSTREAK INC LawnSite Senior Member

yeah what are you trying to go for? lower height?

in pruning you look and prune out

damaged branches

diseased branches

dead branches

crossing leaders

while doing this try not to leave too many crows feet, in the crepe myrtle itd be a good idea to use loppers and prune out some of the super large branches down the bottom, maybe one or two (depending how big and established the tree is) by doing this every year or two you can slowly rejunatively prune it out. they also say fert in the spring with straight nitrogen.

5. Sunstate Lawn

Sunstate Lawn LawnSite Member

I've seen mostly butchering of crepes down here. Usually the stalk and the first fork is left every season. Some of these stalks are 2" at the cut, and it seems really extreme. This is the norm, though. How did this get started? I don't see anyone do any sort of selective pruning on crepes.

6. PHS