Trimming Shrubs ?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by kalyeah, Mar 9, 2004.

1. kalyeah

kalyeah LawnSite Member

Hey guy, I need some advice. I live in Louisville, KY zone 6. I'm just starting out my business this year. Looking really promising for the mowing season. Business is really picking up. My question is I had a guy call and ask me to trim some shrubs for him. Most of them are small evergreen....maybe boxwood not sure. Then there are a couple of bigger bushes that I'm not sure what they are. They don't have any leaves on them yet. My question is when is the proper time to trim and shape these? Will it do damage if I do it now? Any advice will be appreciated by this newby. Love this forum by the way. It's been a big help in me getting things off the ground.

2. BW4486

BW4486 LawnSite Member

Just trimming and shaping shouldn't be a problem any time of year but heavy trimming should be done in spring and fall on almost all plants

3. kalyeah

kalyeah LawnSite Member

Thanks for the reply. This site has been a load of help. Thanks again.

4. Curtis

Curtis LawnSite Member

You could trim now but the new spring growth will be out in a couple of months you might want to wait until then unless the customer wants another trim that soon .

5. leemac

leemac LawnSite Member

I really think you need to identify your plant material before you do any major pruning.

6. DJL

DJL LawnSite Member

I would recommend identifying the plant before doing ANY trimming.

Some plants grow on old wood, so trimming them now would stunt there new growth for this year and in the case of a flowering plant you will lose the color in the landscape. You really need to identify the plants and not just do the spring and fall are the best times, because that's not the case. Some like to be pruned immediately after flowering, some can be sheared down drastically at certain times, etc., etc., etc.