Trimming Time?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by steviepowers, Feb 3, 2006.

1. steviepowers

steviepowers LawnSite Member

What are some guidelines for estimating trimming time? I am good on judging my cuting time, but not sure how to judge trim time for an accurate estimate.

2. firefightergw

firefightergw LawnSite Gold Member
    from Texas

Keep a journal of all your jobs. Put in how long each component takes you. If you are talking about edging, that is easy to figure. Just measure the linear foot of all areas needing edged and then document how long it takes you. Divide the linear foot by time and it will tell you how many ft. you do a minute. You can be consise and measure each place during the estimate but before long you will be able to eye-ball how many ft are envolved and just divide by how many ft you can do in a minute and there you go.

3. steviepowers

Yeah, I can figure that much out. But, I am just starting out and need some guidelines to estimate yards. What is your avg time per foot?

4. out4now

out4now LawnSite Bronze Member
    from AZ

His time may not be the same as yours depending on skill. You have to know your numbers. Practice at home if you have to and use the formula he gave.

5. steviepowers

Again thanks for the input, but could you please just let me know about an average time per, say, 100 ft... or whatever time/ distance you would prefer to list. Anyone... that is all I am asking for. Just a little insight into your world of trimming. I know that I will not be eaxactly the same, but this will give me an idea of something. Just a simple question. Thanks a million to anyone who can answer the million dollar question.

6. JLL25

JLL25 LawnSite Member