tropical looking flowerbeds

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by KDLAWN, Jan 13, 2005.

1. KDLAWN

KDLAWN LawnSite Member

I have a business ( tanning beds ) that is wanting to install some flowerbeds and wanting them to look tropical. I have thought of some 2 or 3 ft palm trees and also some ferns. I am trying to come up with some other ideas and needing some input on this.. what other plants would you use and what type of ground cover would you use.. I have looked on the web alittle and have not found anything that caught my eye.. I thought some or you guys could help and possibly supply some pics on this.. the flower bed is going to be around 30ft long and 5 to 6ft deep.. any help would be GREATFUL.. thanks!!:)

2. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

Well, I am no expert on this as we can't grow most tropical stuff here in Oregon. But I think you're off to a good start. I would think Palms and Ferns are good as a foundation.

I would add to that lots of plants with the following characteristics;

* bright, colorful, flowers (annuals and perennials)
    * plants with unique, colorful foliage (e.g. purple "moses in the cradle")
    * Plants with extra large leaves (e.g. Fatsia Japonica)
    * Plants with tall, spiky leaves (e.g.Snake Plant, Yucca, Dracaena, etc.)

Those are the kinds of things I see at the Bahamas or Hawaii.

3. Mickhippy

Mickhippy LawnSite Platinum Member

I agree this Jim
    Forgive my spelling below....

IMO Best way to go is colorful foliage. Reds, purples etc. Dracina (Margy) tri colors are good and hardy. B

Check out a rainforest garden type book. Large leaf, tri color, ferns, palms (something else other than the cocas) philodendrons (spelling?) Quarterlines come in all sorts of colors. Even Frangapanny and clumping bamboos! Bird of Paradise (forgotten the name) Gingers are popular, they have cool flowers and great foliage.

Try grouping plants together, say three palms reasonably close (depend on size of course)