1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

trying to get a few accounts

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by smitty012, Mar 30, 2007.

1. smitty012

smitty012 LawnSite Member

I cut my lawn which is about an acre, I also cut a property that is 3-4 acres, and recently purchased a Gravely ztr. I am looking at getting another commercial account and/or a few residential accounts. I am not a landscaper, I work as a police officer on 12 hour shifts, so I have alot of days off. I just want a few accounts as a small part time business. My question is, I don't have the first clue on how to bid jobs. I have 2 people wanting me to give them a price on cutting their lawn. The houses are in a nice development, approximately half acres lot sizes. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks.
  2. TNT LawnCare Inc.

TNT LawnCare Inc. LawnSite Bronze Member

Hard to tell without really looking at the property ,1\2 acre lots here bring in as much as $55.00 dollars. Things to consider are how much trimming,slopes flower beds and on and on. Hope this helps.Good Luck
  3. Duekster

Duekster LawnSite Fanatic
    from DFW, TX

How long does it take you to mow those 3-4 acres? That gives you a base production rate for mowing. Then kind of do the same thing for line trimming. That will give you an idea of how long the jobs will take based upon production rates. The decide how much wear and tear you put on the equipment and what it cost purchase and repair.

Then how much money you want for your time plus uncle sames cut. Also, should you buy disability insurance? I mean what happens if you get hurt and then can not do your regular job?

Add all this up and get an hourly rate. Example, You want to make and extra 15 bucks and hour free and clear.