Trying to start a lawn care business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by The Scraper, Aug 25, 2007.

1. The Scraper

The Scraper LawnSite Member
    from Florida

Hello. I live in Florida where the grass is green and the girls are pretty (wait a minute. Isn't that a song or something?)

Anyway, I'm new to the lawn car profession and would like some advice on what equipment to buy, how much to charge, and licenses.

It would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. Lohse's Lawn Service

Lohse's Lawn Service LawnSite Member
    from US

Paradise City, Guns 'n' Roses.

Not sure about your financial situation or your goals, but probably start out small and work your way up. Start as big as a USED 32" walk-behind mower. I stress the word "used" because it won't cost you as much and if you end up not liking this business, you won't be out so much. However, make sure you buy commercial equipment.

Pricing just depends on where you live. I have some yards that are $25 and some that are over $100, including a $200 cemetery.

Start out with a DBA (doing business as) and get business name registered and get after it. There are other licenses, etc. but I think this will be a good start. If you have any questions, just ask. Good luck.

3. The Scraper

from Florida

Well I can spend no more than $6,000 on equipment. I was thinking about getting them from Home Depot. For example, with the mower (Cub Cadet, the one where you sit on), blower, trimmer, and sweeper, it will cost $2,800 total. But I haven't included the trailer yet since I still need to find the best prices.

The avg going rate at my neck of the woods are $35 to $100. I will probably charge $30 for homes and probably 100 for bigger lots.

You mentioned licenses? What kind would I need? BTW could you recommend any good books/DVDs on the subject of starting a lawn care business? Thanks

4. Lohse's Lawn Service

from US